Essie 'find me an oasis'

Essie resort 2014 collection

I got my hands on the new Essie resort 2014 collection, and since I couldn’t decide which ones I wanted I got them all. That’s a first for me, and my wallet is getting kind of fed up with my polish shopping. After I’ve felt bad about that for a tiny moment I move on to being so happy because these are gorgeous. I have seen reviews where people rave on and on about them, but since I’m a sceptic of course I have to make up my own mind. Not that I wouldn’t kill to get the collections for reviews myself, but anyhow… These are bought with my own money and you can take my review or leave it just the same. I set out to do regular swatches, because I really appreciate when bloggers take the time to do that since it helps us polishaholics immensely in our choosing. But that just didn’t happen. I think I have a problem; I can’t wear a solid color any more.

Since I have a lot of work to do with my photography skills I tried to take them in different lighting to give you a little feeling of how they really look.

First up is ‘resort fling’, a sheer coral, which just looks super soft and feminine. I put three thin layers on and there is still some visible nail line there. I think I will wait until I have a little bit of a tan to wear this again, since I didn’t really like it with my skin tone. It’s pretty but very sheer. I paired it up with some cute pastel studs from BornPrettyStore and a chevron with ‘cocktails & coconuts’.

Essie resort fling

Essie resort fling

Next up is ‘find me an oasis’, a light, light blue which is the prettiest thing I’ve seen in a long time. I’m totally in love and can see myself buying a back-up of this soon. This one isn’t quite as sheer and could do in two coats if you’re careful with your application, I did three just to be on the safe side. I paired this one also with pastel studs and ‘cocktails & coconuts’ and I think it’s a match made in heaven. They look crisp and cool like a newly fluffed beach towel. I’d really like to go to this resort, now.

Essie 'find me an oasis'

Essie ‘find me an oasis’

Essie 'find me an oasis'

Essie ‘find me an oasis’

Essie 'find me an oasis'

Essie ‘find me an oasis’

Next up is ‘cocktails & coconuts’ which is a beige nude with a pretty shimmer to it. This one looks good on my pale winter skin and will look fabulous when I’m a bit tanned. The formula is similar to ‘find me an oasis’ and I got away with two smooth coats. I’m not usually into shimmers, but this one is really subtle and elegant, I like it a lot. And you can clearly see the shimmer in the bottle. For my accent I did a gradient with ‘find me an oasis’ and added a star fish from Hex. Find me some sun and a beach, please!

Essie 'cocktails & coconuts'

Essie ‘cocktails & coconuts’

Essie 'cocktails & coconuts'

Essie ‘cocktails & coconuts’

Essie 'cocktails & coconuts'

Essie ‘cocktails & coconuts’

And last but not least ‘under the twilight’, a dark purple creme. I managed with one coat and that’s always appreciated.  I was hesitant to put this on but mostly because that meant removing ‘find me an oasis’ and I’m so in love with that. Well well, now that I’m trying to ‘swatch’ these I’d better do them all. It’s very pretty and super smooth application and I really like my accent nail too where I paired all four from the collection. They work really well together. Overall I think it’s a very beautiful collection, and the colors are subtle and elegant. I hope you found my foray into swatching helpful, I thought it was really fun anyway.

Essie 'under the twilight'

Essie ‘under the twilight’

Essie 'under the twilight'

Essie ‘under the twilight’

Essie 'under the twilight'

Essie ‘under the twilight’

Essie 'under the twilight'

Essie ‘under the twilight’

12 thoughts on “Essie resort 2014 collection

  1. CcPaws says:

    Find me an oasis is gorgeous! It’s like a baby blue, and it looks creamy, really nice =) Under the Twilight is so dark it almost looks black. I don’t know why but it reminds me of black olives.. which if I wore that color I’d want to eat my finger nails lol ( love black olives!) I like the resort fling too, but I think I’d get annoyed having to use to many layers, I have a couple polishes that are like that, a green, Orange and a yellow, to me it feels like I’m wasting if I need to add more then two layers.
    In all I think these are all nice, and it helps because you have nice nails to wear these =)

  2. majsran says:

    Ha ha, love your image of black olives. I love them too, but so far I haven’t felt the urge to eat my nails 😉
    ‘Find me an oasis’ is easily my favorite, so versatile and crisp. Love love love. I think I’m warming up to ‘resort fling’ after using it on my accent on the last mani, it was layered over ‘find me an oasis’ there. So it’s more manageable over a base I think. It’s extremely soft, a nice break from other ‘in your face’ colors too. Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

  3. Malin says:

    Jättefina swatcher! Kul när det är lite mer än bara en färg att titta på! Även om jag själv gärna bara har en enkel färg på mig under veckorna 🙂

  4. Johanna says:

    Åh vad fina! Gillar speciellt “find me an oasis” och “cocktails & coconuts”. Och jag gillar verkligen dina manikyrer, som visar på hur man kan matcha lacken med varandra!
    Har varit på jakt efter en riktigt ljust blå länge nu, och denna verkar ju helt perfekt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

