Tutorial for checkered nails

When I posted my checkered nails on Instagram I got some requests for a tutorial. I’ve been thinking about trying to make tutorials for a while so this seemed like a good opportunity. My camera stopped working with me midway through so I had to use my camera on my phone, so lighting looks a bit different and the quality isn’t as good. Since it took a bit longer than when I do it myself my tape decided to leave some color behind on my nails. This is my first tutorial so please tell me what was good and what I could change if I make another one.

First up is a picture of what I used. Base coat Duri ‘Rejuvacote’ , top coat Seche Vite, Sally Hansen ‘300 White on’, OPI ‘Black onyx’, striping tape and a thin brush.

Tools and products

Tools and products

After base coat I put on two coats of the white polish and then fast drying top coat.

White base

White base

When the top coat is dry I start taping, making larger squares for the black that I’m painting in this layer and thinking how I want the finished product will look like. Since I have to make my black squares in two different settings I will have to square off the white areas “inside” the boxes so the tape is essentially a part of what will turn into a white square. I hope the pictures makes more sense than my explanation.

Start taping in one direction

Start taping in one direction

And then the other

And then the other

Here you can see that I’ve made different sized squares. The reason for taping like this is that it’s a lot easier to remove if you have a certain order to follow.

When the taping is done, take the black polish and drop onto a non-stick surface and fill up your thin brush and start painting the large squares.

Black polish

Black polish

Start filling in the large squares

Start filling in the large squares

All filled up

All filled up

Now remove the tape right away before the polish starts to dry. Remember the order you taped them and remove in reverse. For me I start removing the horizontal stripes because I put them on last. This is what it will look like after that. After it has dried for a while I put on another layer of fast drying top coat. Take care when you do this and use a light hand so you don’t drag the black polish with you.

Black squares

Black squares

You can see where the tape has left some residue on the white, which looks like crap. But if you’re able to work a little bit quicker than I did this usually doesn’t happen to me.

When this layer is dry I start taping again, this time tracing the black squares I did previously.

Second time striping

Second time striping

Paint the new squares with black

Paint the new squares with black

Again, work quickly with removing the tape. Allow some time for drying before top coat and voila; you are done 🙂

Without top coat

Without top coat

with top coat

with top coat

Checkered nails

Checkered nails

I hope you liked this and that you try it. It takes some time and patience but it isn’t that hard. Please comment your thoughts on this tutorial below.

6 thoughts on “Tutorial for checkered nails

  1. Johanna says:

    Jättebra tutorial! Precis lagom med bilder och text! Du får gärna göra mer sådant här! Det är så himla kul att se en artist “in action”!

Leave a Reply

