OPI MISS PIGGY'S BIG NUMBER

OPI Muppets most wanted 2014

Hello there, this is the second time that I have bought an entire collection. And this is my attempt at swatching them and giving my opinion. I struggled a bit, both with some of the regular polishes and the glitters. Formula is almost never disappointing with OPI, but my creativity wasn’t having it with these polishes together. I couldn’t really find any cohesiveness and mix them together, not entirely OPI’s fault, but not entirely mine either. But never mind that, most often you buy one polish separately and don’t care if it matches the others in a collection 😀

Before we start I would like to recommend my friend Lindsay’s blog: Nail That Accent! where she has posted beautiful swatches with better pictures than mine and without all the extra stuff I feel OCD about adding . I have a hard time painting my nail in one color only. I guess I’ll have to practice that as well as using glitter.

First up is my least favorite of the bunch ‘Int’l crime caper’. It’s an opalescent pearl shimmer that needed 4 coats for coverage, still some visible nail line on my index. It looked so dreamy in other swatchers pictures that I had higher expectations of this. If you are after a sheer shimmery look though it will be perfect. On my accent I did a pond manicure where I layered ‘Amazon…Amazoff’ as leaves and for this ‘Int’l crime caper’ worked perfectly. I guess I’ll use it like that and can’t wait to do a whole mani with this look. The froggy as usual from Hex Nail Jewelry.

OPI INT'L CRIME CAPER

OPI INT’L CRIME CAPER

 

Next is the gorgeous ‘Kermit me to speak’, a rosy mauve duochrome. Two easy coats but I had a hard time capturing it on camera so this is one I really recommend visiting Lindsay’s blog for her swatch. It really is a stunner. I tried putting some water on to catch the duochrome, didn’t really work out because the water didn’t stay put 😉

OPI KERMIT ME TO SPEAK

OPI KERMIT ME TO SPEAK

OPI KERMIT ME TO SPEAK

OPI KERMIT ME TO SPEAK

 

Now it’s time for one of the glitters ‘Let’s do anything we want’.  Rose and gold small glitters with white confetti and larger white squares. Good application, some fishing required to get the larger ones where you want them.  The glitters left me without inspiration because I’m generally not drawn to putting it on my nails, no matter how pretty they look. But as I’ve said before, I’m in training. In the end I paired it with some of my favorites from the Brazil collection; ‘Kiss me I’m Brazilian’ and ‘Taupe-less beach’ and I like the end result.

OPI LET'S DO ANYTHING WE WANT

OPI LET’S DO ANYTHING WE WANT

The next glitter is ‘Muppets world tour’, a colorful sparkly glitter with smaller hex glitters in pink and blue. I put it in a glitter gradient over ‘Skull & Glossbones’ and I love the combo. I can’t stop staring at my fingers, they sparkle like diamonds and it looks really luxurious to me.

OPI MUPPETS WORLD TOUR

OPI MUPPETS WORLD TOUR

OPI MUPPETS WORLD TOUR

OPI MUPPETS WORLD TOUR

‘I love applause’ is next, a soft baby pink. Sheer on the first coat but it built up nicely with a second one. Maybe not a very unique color but I seem to want to own every pink so naturally I loved this. I paired it with ‘Gaining Mole-mentum’ with shredded gold and pink foil like pieces. It’s so special and utterly gorgeous. Maybe not spectacular in my swatch so I’ll get back to this one on a later occasion. It deserves a post of it’s own.

OPI I LOVE APPLAUSE & GAINING MOLE-MENTUM

OPI I LOVE APPLAUSE & GAINING MOLE-MENTUM

‘Chillin like a villain’ is one of these polishes which I seem to have an unrequited love to. I really like this color but I’m not so sure it likes me back. It’s a sheer nude which leans a bit to orange undertones and the verdict is still out if it compliments my skin tone or clashes with it. The accent is a little leopard with gold studs. This is one color I needed to see matte, so of course there is a picture with that too.

OPI CHILLIN' LIKE A VILLAINOPI CHILLIN' LIKE A VILLAIN

OPI CHILLIN’ LIKE A VILLAIN

OPI CHILLIN' LIKE A VILLAIN

OPI CHILLIN’ LIKE A VILLAIN

And last but not least the crown jewel of the collection ‘Miss Piggy’s big number’. A deep shimmery blue which is absolutely stunning. If you are only getting one polish from this collection, this is the one I would recommend. Truly scrumptious and original. For Miss Piggy I blinged out my accent properly with ‘I love applause’, ‘Muppets world tour’, Swarovski rhinestones and a heart from the Nail Room.

OPI MISS PIGGY'S BIG NUMBER

OPI MISS PIGGY’S BIG NUMBER

OPI MISS PIGGY'S BIG NUMBER

OPI MISS PIGGY’S BIG NUMBER

 

I hoped you liked my ‘swatches’ and that I helped a little in your choices in which ones to get or not. Have a great weekend!

14 thoughts on “OPI Muppets most wanted 2014

  1. Malin says:

    Igen så gillar jag ju att du gör lite mer än bara swatchar rakt upp och ner 🙂
    Jag blev mest sugen på glitterlacken faktiskt, tycker de ser oväntat fina ut båda två!

  2. Johanna says:

    Wow! Helt fantastiskt vackert!! Och nog tycker jag allt att ‘Chillin like a villain’passar dig, ser mjuk och behaglig ut. Och jag känner att jag måste ha ‘Gaining Mole-mentum’ och ‘Miss Piggy’s big number’. Och jag håller med Malin! Älskar att du kombinerar lacken så här i dina swatcher! Supersupersuperfina!!!!

  3. pocketmoneypolishes says:

    You’ve actually convinced me that I would like a couple of these – before I didn’t want any of them. I think your swatches and nail art are great! I think this collection is pretty incoherent and I am not sure why a couple of the polishes are here – the NLTM dupe (we just had something similar in Brazil#) and the frosty navy – been there, done that AND they’re releasing more blues shortlly anyway. I love OPI but this year… I don’t understand what they’re thinking. Still sulking that the Brazil sands only came out in mini…

    • majsran says:

      Aww, thank you. Good to hear I’m not alone in my thoughts. There were some good ones here though but I don’t see how they go together. All in all I like the Brazil collection better, but that’s because I’m a sucker for nude’s and cremes 🙂 Haven’t tried the small sands though…

  4. Lindsay (Nail That Accent) says:

    Oh sweetie thanks for the mention. I think you did a FABULOUS JOB! Your “I love applause”, “chillin like a villain” and “miss piggy’s big number” are TO DIE FOR. They all look great though. You really did amazingly here.

  5. Blingfinger says:

    Åh jag ser att andra skriver på svenska så då gör jag också det..Fantastiskt att du har nail art på varje swatch, jättefina bilder. Jag är också dragen till Chillin’ men vet inte om den är så snygg på mot min hud egentligen.

    • mllrdesign says:

      Tack vad gullig du är. Nä, den är lite svår. Gillar den men den är ju åt det gulare hållet så jag har andra som är snyggare mot min hudton. Men man behöver ju flera nyanser, eller hur 😉

Leave a Reply

