Gradient with holo stripes and roses

Gradient tutorial with holographic stripes

Today I’m back to flowers. Sometimes I feel like a one trick pony, but hey, flowers are pretty so there you go.

First I start with base coat and one layer of my base color. Essie ‘Cocktails & Coconuts’

  1. I put OPI ‘Glitter off’ base coat around my fingers as protection for the gradient. Wait until it’s completely dry before your sponging. It’s dry when it’s translucent.
  2. I use a cut up make up sponge and wet it. Squeeze out the water and paint lines of the colors you are using. I have Essie ‘Cocktails & coconuts’ and ILNP ‘Bunny tails’.
  3. Dab the sponge onto your nail, wait until it has dried until next layer, and continue until you are happy with the blending. Be careful so you are not to eager between layers, that will drag the colors from underneath and create patches.
  4. When you are happy with the gradient top coat pretty quickly afterwards. This helps the colors to blend. I used HK Girl fast drying top coat from Glisten & Glow. 
  5. Remove the peel-off base coat. Separate it from the cuticles first to avoid dragging.
  6. When the top coat is completely dry go onto the next step of placing the tape. I used nailvinyls from here.
  7. Paint your next polish, I used ILNP ‘Pixie dust’. Remove the tape immediately after painting.
  8. Paint your stem, leaves and roses. I paint the roses with three different shades of pink to create shading.
  9. Top coat again.
  10. Clean up with flat/angled brush dipped in acetone around your cuticles.

All done!
Good luck and have fun!

Pink and beige gradient

Pink and beige gradient

Gradient with holo stripes and roses

Gradient with holo stripes and roses

Gradient with holo stripes and roses

Gradient with holo stripes and roses

Leave a Reply

