Shiny orchids on matte background

Orchids for @crisalvarado17

As we’ve done before in the nail community, we rally some online support when someone is having a rough time and this time it’s Cris’s time. Since she is the flower queen I decided to make a flower mani in my attempt to show my support and try to cheer her up.

I really wanted to try to make a shiny/matte design to see how it would come together and here is how I did it:

  1. I started with Essie ‘Spin the bottle’ and I mattified it with Essie ‘Matte about you’.
  2. Next I outlined the flower petals and stems with acrylic paint.
  3. For the petals I used OPI Sheer tint ‘Don’t violet me down’ that I first diluted with thinner to make it easier to work with. Then added some more thicker color to make the colors a bit shaded.
  4. After that I added some white acrylic paint.
  5. I topped it off with painting on my favorite top coat; HK Girl by Glisten & Glow just on my design to make a shiny/matte contrast.

Hope you like it and try something similar!

Essie 'Spin the bottle'

Essie ‘Spin the bottle’

Shiny orchids on matte background

Shiny orchids on matte background

Shiny orchids on matte background

Shiny orchids on matte background

Leave a Reply

