Watercolor blueberries

Watercolor blueberries, tutorial

Now is the season starting for blueberries here in Sweden and I really enjoy eating fresh picked berries, even if the picking process itself is a little tiresome and most often paired with annoying mosquitos.

The base is a gradient with Essie ‘Urban Jungle’, OPI ‘Don’t Bossa Nova Me Around’ and ‘Taupe-Less Beach’. Pinkie and thumb are OPI DS ‘Lapis’.

  1. As usual when doing watercolor effect I start with mattifying my base using Essie ‘Matte About You’.
  2. I water down my acrylic paint so I can get excess water to dab off with a dry brush. I blot the brush on a piece of paper now and then to get rid of the liquid.
  3. I shadow with a darker color that I also blot a little to blend the colors.
  4. I add some white highlights to my blueberries.
  5. Seal with favorite top coat. I use HK Girl from Glisten & Glow.

Good luck and have fun!

The gradient base and ring from @ka_yee_or

The gradient base and ring from @ka_yee_or

Watercolor blueberries

Watercolor blueberries

4 thoughts on “Watercolor blueberries, tutorial

Leave a Reply

